Bryce Young gives Alabama back to back Heisman win

Last updated December 13, 2021 | Published December 13, 2021

Alabama's Bryce Young has won the Heisman Trophy, beating out Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson and giving the Crimson Tide their second trophy of college football's most prestigious player of the year award in a row.

With Young's trophy, which was the first to be awarded on Saturday night, Alabama became the fifth school consecutive winner of college football's most famous individual award.

“This is amazing,” Young, who was dressed in all black while sporting a diamond chain around his neck, started his acceptance speech. In addition to thanking his father, Craig, for being his “best friend” and his mother, Julie, for “always having my back,” he also thanked for being his “best friend,” his mother, Julie, for “always having my back,”

The voting results

Young received 684 a total number of first-place votes and 2,311 points, outdistancing Hutchinson at 78 first-place votes and 95 points. Hutchinson, however, became the third defensive player to be Heisman runner-up as well as the first since Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o occupied the award's second place in 2012.

Trailing in third and fourth, respectively, were Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett with 28 first-place votes and 631 points and Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud at 12 votes and 399 points. Following behind at the fifth place was Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr. with 31 and 325. For the first time since 1962, two defensive players entered the top five.

Young received 83 percent of the total points available only a year after former teammate DeVonta Smith also won the Heisman. The previous Alabama Heisman winners are running backs Mark Ingram in 2009 and Derrick Henry in 2015. Young's voting percentage was the seventh-highest among 87 winners. Additionally, Young was named on 90 percent of all ballots which was also the seventh highest in the history of the award.

About Young

So far this season, Young has passed for 4,322 yards and 43 touchdowns, allowing Alabama to win a Southeastern Conference title and getting them a slot in the College Football Playoff. Young's next game is when the No.1 Crimson Tide plays No. 4 Cincinnati on December 31 in the Cotton Bowl.

Young became Alabama's fourth Heisman winner, all of whom won the award during the last 13 years under coach Nick Saban. There are only four schools that have won more, namely Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma and Southern California, each received seven.

There are also only four other schools that have won the Heisman award in consecutive years. They are Yale in 1936 and 1937, Army in 1945 and 1946, Southern California in 2004 and 2005, and Oklahoma in 2017 and 2018. Reggie Bush’s 2005 victory for Southern Carolina, however, was vacated later.

The sophomore Young took over New England Patriots quarterback Mac Jones' starting role last year, which for two previous seasons was held by Tua Tagovailoa. Both Hones and Tagovailoa also held the starting role in the NFL after being selected in the first round of the draft.

“It was big for me to understand the quarterback tradition and the standard that was being a quarterback at the University of Alabama,” Young said. “It was important for me to live up to that, to meet that standard.”

Gus Anderson
Gus Anderson is a gambling wizard. As a kid he dreamt about becoming a Tennis, Hockey and Golf professional but ended up as a gambling professional with focus on both sports & casino.